RSS

On the Editing Train…

26 Jul
On the Editing Train…

The time is near everyone where I will be finishing up the end of my Romantic Suspense Novel: Through the Fog. I’m so excited as this has been a long journey. But, that journey does not end with me. Hours, upon hours, have been spent…recreation has been set aside…people have been ignored.

Now comes the editing phase in which I am both excited and nervous about. It’s tricky when trying to find the right person to handle your work with care. Who loves to edit novels in my Genre? Who has a reputable fan-base? Who really cares about bettering my story and not just making some quick cash? Will they take me seriously and my work? These are just a few of many questions that I have been asking myself a lot lately. I want someone who genuinely loves Romantic Suspense novels (after all, you wouldn’t want someone who only likes to read or write about sports to put their paws on a romance novel) to be the person that helps clean up and tidies my story. Making any sense?

What about you? Have you been disappointed with someone who edited for you? Who have you found to be a trustworthy advocate for you and your books? Please share who you think deserves some praise. This blog was created not only to guide me in my journey, but also to inspire others with theirs. Thank you in advance for all of your suggestions, praise, and encouragement. ***LOVE YOU ALL!***

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 26, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “On the Editing Train…

  1. brittneysahin

    July 26, 2015 at 10:41 pm

    Email editors and ask for their prior work (what they have mostly worked on) & then request a free sample edit to see if they jive with you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • S. J. Lynn

      July 27, 2015 at 1:52 pm

      Thanks for the tip! There are a few I’ve looked into. One of them being Writing Divas. I plan on researching them some more though. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. olganm

    August 5, 2015 at 6:43 am

    Another option would be to ask authors whose work you’ve enjoyed and think is well edited, who they use. Some people who publish through publishing companies might use their editors. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • S. J. Lynn

      August 5, 2015 at 1:13 pm

      Thank you for your tip! I’ll definitely do that. Thanks

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
