RSS

Outlines or Going with the Flow?

29 Jun
Outlines or Going with the Flow?

I started out thinking an outline would be the best way to handle writing a novel, because there is usually so much going on. Then as time went on, I found myself going to other places in my mind and not sticking to my notes. Although that is completely okay to do, because new ideas form, you have to be careful that you remember all the twists and turns; after all, they will come into play later into your novel (at least they should). The hard part? Remembering what you changed and what you added…at least it is for some of us.

What about you? How do you handle adding new ideas and trying to make it all come into play throughout your work? Do you just go with the flow, keep writing, and worry about it later? Or, do you take extensive notes when a new idea pops into your head?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 29, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Outlines or Going with the Flow?

  1. brittneysahin

    June 29, 2015 at 7:54 pm

    I always plot my book from start to finish, but things change as I go & I don’t usually add the changes to my plot outline. I reread my work so much as I go though, so I don’t really find myself forgetting the new additions. Every person is different though – and I am sure what works for some won’t for others. Best of luck!!

    Like

     
    • S. J. Lynn

      June 29, 2015 at 10:48 pm

      Thanks for sharing. I love hearing everyone’s ideas and strategies. It helps others get an idea of what they think might be the best way to go about their writing. I usually run the whole story through my head, then as I write, I will chapter each page and put in parenthesis what I want to happen in that chapter. Then, I delete and add things. 🙂 As always, thanks for sharing.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. jasonmarchingo

    July 1, 2015 at 3:44 am

    I’m 15 and have started my own novel project.

    Fortunately I find it easy to have an idea and just write with the flow.

    Dwelling too much on ideas that aren’t there to continue a novel, I have found is pointless and creates writers block.

    I also find that I like to let the characters develop themselves with the flow.

    Well written piece

    – Jason

    Like

     
    • S. J. Lynn

      July 1, 2015 at 10:36 am

      Jason, that’s awesome that you are writing a novel at your age. I wish I had done it sooner. Unfortunately, I wasn’t up on all the resources available. Of course, today there is a plethora of tools at our fingertips!
      I agree with you about going with the flow. Even the author doesn’t really know their characters fully until their book is finished…in my humble opinion:)
      Keep writing! Keep Dreaming!

      Liked by 1 person

       

Leave a Reply

 
