RSS

Professional Book Covers?

26 Jun

Okay, so there are many places it seems that one can go and snatch up a book cover. But, I don’t simply want to ‘snatch’ one up as if I’m just going fishing. I want it to represent my novel and my characters…and me.

You’ll hear the words uttered, “Don’t ever judge a book by it’s cover.” Well, that’s easier said than done…in an ideal world, and simply is a load of crap! Yes, there are many books that I’ve read that were fantastic reads that didn’t have a great cover. But, usually they were books that I either stumbled upon, was suggested to by a friend, or was really bored and wanted something to read. And honestly, I’m tired of scanning through ebooks that have the same cover, but different stories.

Truth is, I tend to look at the cover as a preview of what I’m sampling. I don’t like that I do this…but I do. And since I do…I know that many other’s do as well.

What about you? Feel the same? What book-cover sites have you enjoyed?

 
27 Comments

Posted by on June 26, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

27 responses to “Professional Book Covers?

  1. bambiquim

    June 26, 2015 at 12:55 pm

    A cover says a lot about a self-published author, not necessarily as much about a traditionally published author. Primarily because the former generally designs or hires someone to design his or her own cover, whereas the latter has almost no input into the design, which is simply delegated to a professional.

    It’s an interesting concept. Whether we should judge a book by its’ cover or not is almost irrelevant – we do. We’re human, and as such, we can be inspired to read something based on visuals. We can also be averse to reading something based on visuals.

    Covers are important, but also relatively easy to design with Kindle. When it comes down to it, I’m more likely to read something with almost no cover design than a poor one.

    There are my rambling thoughts – thanks for making me think!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • S. J. Lynn

      June 26, 2015 at 1:04 pm

      Thanks for your input. I’ve looked into designing my own. However, finding a good photo to work with is tricky. Like I mentioned in my blog, there are tons of sites that you can get a photo for free or even purchase one. I guess I’d like to see how a professional site would design my cover given the material of my book. How neat would that be? To see how someone else pictures your characters and story! I’m with you though…I’d rather have some sort of cover to look at than none at all. On the other hand…I am a firm believer that it is our minds that create the best pictures of a book when it comes down to it. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. brittneysahin

    June 26, 2015 at 1:08 pm

    I used ebook launch for my cover and chose the option to have them design it based on my input (not precreated). Pricing is not bad & I was extremely happy. It took 7-8 revisions on their part to get it to where it was perfect for me- but they never gave up until I was satisfied.

    Like

     
    • S. J. Lynn

      June 26, 2015 at 1:28 pm

      Thank you for your answer. I will definitely check them out. I’ve been wracking my brain or who I could trust with my story. I love hearing from those who’ve had success in self-publishing and how they went about everything…from getting it published, to whose hands they put it in, what steps they had to take for the whole process, etc.

      Liked by 1 person

       
    • S. J. Lynn

      June 26, 2015 at 1:29 pm

      Also….did you wait until your book was completely done before you got your book cover designed? I’m a little impatient to get mine done as my book isn’t finished yet. Working on it though:)

      Like

       
      • brittneysahin

        June 26, 2015 at 1:46 pm

        I am still not done (book is with my editor for the 2nd round). I didn’t realize how long it would take me to edit (longer than to write the book!). If you are just doing an ebook cover I don’t see the need to wait at all- as long as you know your title 🙂 I am also doing print- so when they requested info for the back of the book I was not ready, which is not a big deal either- they are just holding that part until I am finished.

        Like

         
      • S. J. Lynn

        June 27, 2015 at 12:07 pm

        Yeah, I saw that later when I went back to your blogging site. For some reason I thought you had finished :/ oooops….oh well. At least you are in the editing stages.:) Who does your editing? I’m being finicky about it, because I want to make sure that I can trust them, you know? Thanks for telling me about the ebook. As I said, I plan on looking into it…today!

        Liked by 1 person

         
      • brittneysahin

        June 27, 2015 at 12:57 pm

        Are you in the US?

        Like

         
      • S. J. Lynn

        June 27, 2015 at 1:16 pm

        Yes, although I’m not saying on my social media exactly where do to privacy. I’ve even been up front on my sites, letting my future readers know that I am using a Pen Name. I value my privacy and just want the focus to be on my work. Hence, every profile picture of mine only shows half of my face.

        Liked by 1 person

         
      • brittneysahin

        June 27, 2015 at 1:26 pm

        Of course 🙂 I just wanted to recommend based on British/American/Australian English 🙂

        Like

         
      • S. J. Lynn

        June 27, 2015 at 1:28 pm

        Yes, thank you:) Also, the book cover link you use…is that the same link you sent me for editing?

        Like

         
      • brittneysahin

        June 27, 2015 at 1:36 pm

        No, two separate companies. Although I am also using ebook launch (cover design) for my formatting.

        Liked by 1 person

         
      • brittneysahin

        June 27, 2015 at 1:04 pm

        https://wordsru.com/en-US
        I used Sarah. Not sure your budget, but they are a little more expensive, but really good. You can upload a document/word count and get a sample quote back. And it shows two options. But- don’t worry about that quote- email your wants/needs with the editor and they can make adjustments. for instance – if you don’t want formatting (it is for print) that will decrease the cost. You can also save money on the feedback letter (but that was well worth the money I think!) You can also request a sample. Sarah showed me two samples (what basic editing would look like) and (premium).

        Like

         
      • S. J. Lynn

        June 27, 2015 at 1:24 pm

        I don’t mind a little expense. With this being my first novel, I think it’s important to have everything but fireworks! It will catch more people’s attention, right?!

        Liked by 1 person

         
      • brittneysahin

        June 27, 2015 at 1:27 pm

        I think the investment I made in my editor has been by far the best experience I have had with this whole process. I have learned so much & I can take that knowledge with me to each new novel.

        Liked by 1 person

         
      • S. J. Lynn

        June 27, 2015 at 1:30 pm

        I love hearing from those who are having success in their writing process. When mine is done, I plan to help others out as well who need some guidance. I appreciate your time. Do you have a regular email? I didn’t see one on your blog. Mine is: s.jlynn@yahoo.com

        Liked by 1 person

         
      • brittneysahin

        June 27, 2015 at 1:39 pm

        I was going to ask you for your email actually. And I totally agree- I love to help and so many have helped me!! brittneysahin@gmail.com

        Liked by 1 person

         
      • S. J. Lynn

        June 27, 2015 at 1:40 pm

        Thank you. I am going to send you one in a bit. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

         
      • brittneysahin

        June 27, 2015 at 1:06 pm

        I requested samples from many companies before I made my decision! You need to make sure they “get” your work 🙂 Some editors did not do well with my genre, so I was happy I got the sample!

        Like

         
      • S. J. Lynn

        June 27, 2015 at 1:20 pm

        Okay, good point to keep in mind. Thanks

        Like

         
      • brittneysahin

        June 26, 2015 at 1:48 pm

        I am also having them format my book as I am too afraid I will mess that up!

        Liked by 1 person

         
      • S. J. Lynn

        June 27, 2015 at 12:22 pm

        could you send me that link for the book cover site you used? I want to make sure I’m looking into the correct one. Thanks:)

        Liked by 1 person

         
      • brittneysahin

        June 27, 2015 at 12:57 pm

        http://ebooklaunch.com/ebook-cover-design/
        I used the dynamic option + upgraded to include the printed one. lmk if you have any questions- more than happy to help!

        Like

         
      • S. J. Lynn

        June 27, 2015 at 1:58 pm

        awesome! thanks. I wish there were more hours in a day. I would work on this until my fingers bled. Have a great day:)

        Liked by 1 person

         
      • brittneysahin

        June 27, 2015 at 2:08 pm

        Thanks- you as well!!

        Liked by 1 person

         

Leave a Reply

 
