RSS

Looking for encouragement with your writing? Let’s talk

02 Jun

Let’s face it. The longer we spend on a book, the more nervous we get. Is it good enough? Are my characters likable and well developed? Does it flow well?

Sometimes we need a break and someone to discuss our concerns with…people who are unbiased as they do not know you and aren’t too afraid to say the wrong thing.

Venting is something I know I’m good at, but not as good as listening and encouraging others.

How are things going on your end? Talk to me 🙂 I would love to chat with you.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 2, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “Looking for encouragement with your writing? Let’s talk

  1. kelseacon

    June 2, 2015 at 7:59 pm

    Hello! I completely agree with you. It’s wonderful showing my story ideas to people I know, having them say they enjoy it and would buy a copy.. But the problem is, they know me! Not that they don’t know good stories, people I know are avid readers. However.. I’d love an unbiased opinion!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • S. J. Lynn

      June 2, 2015 at 8:32 pm

      I’d love to chat with you about your work and offer my heartfelt opinion. What questions do you have, or what are you concerned about? Lead the way…

      Like

       
      • kelseacon

        June 2, 2015 at 8:36 pm

        Well, I feel like the problem is I’m just not sure if my story is really headed in the right diction. I’ve taken a step back from the creative free-writing process to go in and detail and edit what I already have, and I’m felling good about it.. But you can just never be too sure, right? The problem is..what started out as a basic short story is slowly becoming a novel! Based on word pages I’m already at 75. If you’d like I can email you the rough copy of what I have so far? Maybe just new perspective will make me feel better about it, make the right decision.

        Like

         
      • S. J. Lynn

        June 2, 2015 at 8:41 pm

        No problem kelseacon! Send it my way:) You know, I recently read an article about word count that I posted recently on my blog. It said that word count actually does matter even though we think: When it’s done, it’s done.
        While short-stories are widely loved, novels are a good way to go too. Maybe you are finding that your characters need more time to tell their stories? I’m finding the same with my first novel. What I thought was that it would be maybe 40,000 words…but, I keep finding new things about my character’s and their lives.
        I’d be glad to look at your material and offer my opinion.

        Like

         
  2. L.D. Parker

    June 2, 2015 at 9:07 pm

    I shared a bit of my work with alpha readers just to see if where i was going was a total disaster. Usually, if people come back and tell you specifically what they liked about it (e.g., good characters, dialogue, a particular scene) versus to a simple “i like it”, then you know you’re headed in somewhat the right direction.

    Like

     
    • S. J. Lynn

      June 2, 2015 at 9:14 pm

      This is true. I have a trusted friend that told me what she thought only a few sentences into her reading my first chapter. It was mainly good, but she had suggestions. The favorite thing I like to hear from people is, “I could really picture everything happening.” Sometimes the problem can be that I am too descriptive. Honestly, if you are a good writer, you should be able to write down only what is necessary to allow your readers to put the picture together in there mind…in there own way. Right? After all, it is for our readers that we are writing. And how often do we find ourselves saying, “The book was soooo much better than the movie.” That’s because we are able to read what the author is writing and put our own imagination as its filter. In movies, you can’t really do that as it is based on what the producer envisioned it to be.

      Like

       
      • L.D. Parker

        June 2, 2015 at 9:27 pm

        Sometimes we have to remember our readers will fill in those blanks themselves. For example, most people will have a picture in their head of what characters look like. No need in the modern novel to go to exhausting lengths to describe our characters other than the basics, imo.

        Liked by 1 person

         

Leave a Reply

 
